Being Single is a Blessing, Not an Illness

Chinese Valentine’s Day called “Qixi” (pronounced “Chee Shee”) just passed a day ago. It always strikes me how so many people believe that there is something downright wrong with being single. Being single is one of the most important times in the life of any person who is trying to dedicate his or her life for God. Now that I am married, I look at my single life playing a crucial role in setting the foundations for how I would conduct my married life. While I was single, I had a lot of free time and was able to do a lot of things that helped shape who I am today. I played a lot of sports and games. I prayed a lot and read a lot of spiritual material. I traveled to 8 countries outside the United States. Through these experiences, I acquired a vast wealth of knowledge and wisdom which I am now using to protect and nurture my family to be a strong, loving unit. I am thankful for the time I had to be single, because it gave me the opportunity to prepare well to live my vocation to the married life to the fullest. No one starts working without learning a few things about the job first. No one starts playing a sport without practicing the fundamentals and learning the rules. Everything requires preparation in order to do it well. For those called to be married, the single life is not the time to do whatever you feel like. It is a blessing from God and deserves to be treated as such. The single life is your time to learn, grow, and become stronger physically, emotionally, intellectually, and spiritually. Do this, and after you get married, you will be grateful.

Leave a Reply

